Nuba Café on Main – Lebanese Cuisine with a Modern Twist [Vancouver, BC]

IMG_2829

Nuba is a Lebanese restaurant chain around the Lower Mainland, they serve many vegan and vegetarian dishes and is also gluten-free friendly. I have been to Nuba in Gastown, Nuba Café in Yaletown and Nuba Café on Main all several times. The food is always delicious at all locations, the service in Gastown is a bit cold and they made us feel unwelcome when my friends and I showed up without a reservation, and this happened not just once. The one in Yaletown is more of a grab -and-go style café, with limited seatings so it’s not where you want to go if you want to sit down and hang out for a bit. However, my experiences at Nuba Café on Main has always been very pleasant and that’s why it is the only place I go to now.

I have been to Nuba Café on Main many times for lunch and this was my first time going in for dinner. The menu is basically about the same except everything is à la carte instead of the lunch set plates{which comes with salad, hummus rice/potatoes, and pickled cabbage. A great deal!}. There are many vegan options on the menu, between my mom and I we ordered the Garden Falafel, Najib’s Special and the Vegan Stew. Everything we ordered are gluten free, they do give complementary pita breads so just simply ask your server to leave that out. I would also suggest the Baba Ghanooj{creamy roasted eggplant purée with lemon and tahini}, really delicious too.

As always the food is amazing and the service, exceptional! I love the uplifting 70′s style interior, just brings a smile to your face when you step inside restaurant.

IMG_2832

Garden Falafel served with tahini, hummus, avocado, pickled cabbage and hot sauce. These are my favourite!

IMG_2834

Najib’s Special, crispy cauliflower served with tahini, pickled cabbage and hot sauce.

IMG_2837

Vegan Stew, seasonal veggies, tomatoes, onions and chickpeas served over brown ice.

IMG_2838

IMG_2839
Nuba Café on Main
146 East 3rd Avenue
604.568.6727

Hours
Mon – Sat: 11:30 – 10pm
Sun: 11:30 – 9:30pm

Nuba on Urbanspoon

 

♥+☮
Modern Hippie L

